Free Therapy

Sacarmouche. Scaramouche Can You Do The Fandango?

 

29495055lipps-inc-funkytown-1-jpg

Recently when Bohemian Rhapsody began to play on the car radio, I encouraged my teenaged daughter to sing along. I was aghast that she didn’t know the words. I felt as though I had failed her. A friend of mine told me that she was a lazy parent when she discovered that she didn’t teach her kids to wash behind their ears. But I believe the worse sin is to not teach them the joy of singing out loud to a Queen song. It should be an essential part of our children’s education. These lyrics must be taught at an early age, right after they learn to say mama and dada and to wash their hands before dinner (with homemade soap, of course).

I truly believe singing in the car with complete abandon is an important form of stress reducing therapy and it is fun too.

How did I miss passing on this important life lesson? After all, in our modern world, we all spend a ridiculous amount of time driving our kids around to sports and field trips and sports and more sports. I admit that my daughter and I did have a time in our lives when we sang to Adele’s Someone Like You for a month or so straight, on the way to school and on the way back again. We were having a rough patch in our lives, and somehow this singing together made life seem just a tinch bit better, if only for those few moments of shared reckless car singing.

I remember my own mother would turn the radio up and make her little VW Rabbit dance to Funky Town (it was the early 80’s). She would take her foot on and off the brake at the stop lights. This made me believe that she was the coolest mother in the whole wide world.

Of course, every mother hopes that her children think that she is the coolest mother ever. Looking back I recall that I had the same Hits of the Forties cd in the back of our multi disc player in the trunk of our Volvo for over two years. I couldn’t change the discs because the player was buried under piles of soccer paraphernalia, recycling and old sweaters. How many families of today know all of the lyrics to On The Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe by Johnny Mercer? Or Don’t Fence Me In, sang by Bing Crosby? So, I am afraid, I don’t win coolest mom on the planet for these reasons.

Click here to listen… On The Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe

I suppose I have taught my children to sing in the car, only with vintage songs. So all is not lost.

I encourage everyone to sing along to great tunes in their car, alone and with your kids. I assure you, even on the worst day you will feel your mood lift. Sing until your head feels a buzzing sensation.

It is the pulse of happiness occurring.

2 thoughts on “Sacarmouche. Scaramouche Can You Do The Fandango?

  1. I am a closet auto singer. I am to embarrassed to let it belt out while with out hers but alone I often let it rip with old Bikini Kill songs from the 90s. You can see how screaming out feminist Riot girrl songs could be embarrassing for a fifty something mocho man.

    Like

Leave a Reply

